Read Benjamin Ashwood (English Edition) by AC Cobble Online

benjamin-ashwood-english-edition

A young man leaves his small village with mysterious strangers on an epic journey.Life is simple in Bens village until an unexpected attack brings the arrival of exciting strangers Before he understands what is happening, the strangers have recruited his sister to go with them on an adventure Ben leaves with them to ensure her safety Soon, they venture into a dangerous world than he ever imagined Mages, demons, thieves, and assassins are just a few of the perils they will face on an epic journey to a city shrouded in myth and legend.As the six volume series unfolds, the stakes get higher, and much than Bens life is at risk Against the backdrop of warring political, economic, and military factions, Ben and his friends battle a threat to all of mankind Ben s knowledge and skill grows, but he must decide if he will live under the control of the unscrupulous leaders who rule the land, flee from them, or break them.Packed full of action and adventure, Benjamin Ashwood is perfect for fans of Robert Jordans Wheel of Time, Brandon Sandersons Mistborn, or Jeff Wheelers Muirwood....

Title : Benjamin Ashwood (English Edition)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : B01G9BSFH8
ISBN13 : -
Format Type : Paperback
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Cobble Publishing LLC Auflage 1 25 Mai 2016
Number of Pages : 482 Pages
File Size : 585 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Benjamin Ashwood (English Edition) Reviews

  • Carsten Vogt
    2018-11-22 15:28

    After reading all the positive reviews at amazon.com I was suprised how utterly underwhelming this book is for my taste.To describe the book with one word it would be "simple": a simple story, a simple writing style, simple characters, simple interactions between them.No suspense, no surprises.Since it is the first self published book by the author I give it two stars.

  • User_Zero
    2018-11-27 19:30

    2017-07-11 - (Still 3 stars) I've finished the book. I see the similarities in plot to WoT, but I stand by my assessment that a comparison to the works of Terry Brooks would be a more accurate comparison. As written, this is more of a young reader story.I liked the story overall, but the editing (or lack of it) really drove me nuts, to the point where I was tempted to just walk away from the book. If I had had a paper copy, the temptation to break out a red pen would have been too great to resist. For me, the Audible version (and a long commute) kept me going. I'd have to go back and examine more in depth, but I could swear that the Audible version contained grammatical corrections over the Kindle version.There were a couple places where characters used real life profanity including the f'bomb - Profanity doesn't bother me very much, but I think its use in the story was detremental to the telling, especially the dropping of the f'bomb. I was listening to the Audible version when it was dropped and it just rang out like a bell against everything else that was going on, especially since it was the only time it was used. If the story were more curse-laden it wouldn't be such a big deal.I'm curious to see where the story goes, so I've committed to the next book.2017-07-08 - (3 stars) I'm only 80 pages into this book as I write this review, but I wanted to get some of my thoughts down. I'll post future updates.So far, I like the book, but there are a few things worth mentioning:1. Maybe it's because I have a little girl, but the fact that the women in the group keep getting referred to as "the girls" (opposed to the men in the group, whom are referred to as "the men"), really grates on me. I realize that the majority of the woman in the group are young women, but the difference still bugs me.2. There are several places in the story where the author switches to present tense in the middle of a paragraph. Typos maybe?3. The comparison to Jordan's WoT or Tolken's LoTR isn't very accurate - Sure from a story perspective there are similarities, but from a writing style perspective there's no comparison. I'd suggest that the style of writing (if not the plot itself) is closer to that of Terry Brooks, which is more geared toward young adult readers (I get YA vibe even more when listening to the Audible Narration).As it sits now, I plan to finish out this book for sure and will probably read at least the next book in the series.

  • Sandra DiMaio-Leach
    2018-11-17 20:23

    First rate adventure. The first three books were already out when I somehow managed to pick this up for free (no review requested). It was recommended by David Estes who writes an incredible EPIC adventure. Benjamin Ashwood caught my attention and imagination immediately. As soon as I finished it, I ordered Books 2 and 3. There are a few typos in the first book, but there are fewer typos and grammatical errors in the second, and the third seems pretty darn clean. (I'm not through with book 3 yet). I have already preordered Book 4. I genuinely like the lead characters. I like their quest to improve their world. I genuinely like the free, easy style of writing. It dragged me into the story immediately and continues to hold my attention. Highly recommend this series. The action and tension continue to build throughout the story arc as the books continue. WELL DONE - keep writing Mr Cobble.

  • Mac
    2018-11-14 23:12

    First off a little of my reading history so you know what I'm comparing this/these to.Started with Goodkind then moved to Sanderson, and Jordan's WoT, and a couple others as well; Fiest, Rothfuss, B. Weeks. If you like this I'd suggest those as well. Also, if you liked those I'd highly recommend this series as well.This was an unexpected and thoroughly enjoyable series. I had finished up a previous book and fell into the "book hole." I was about to take a trip and wanted an audio book to keep me company. [Side note, the narrator did did an excellent job] So I stumbled across this and was rather pleased after the first book.Yes, this follow the standard fantasy arc which is a little gripe, but it is hard to deviate from. The characters are likeable and the story progresses at a good pace. I never felt board or found the events dull. I'm sure there are some muguffins and ex-machina moments but I read through this without batting an eye at any. My only real gripe is the main characters' naivety at world events and how incredulous he reacts when these things don't go his way. [I want to smack him on the back of his head. "You should know this!"]But overall this was a great book and I'll recommend this when my friends sit around asking for advice on their next read. If you're reading this, I implore you to do so as well.

  • C. St John
    2018-11-20 19:09

    at 78, I've been reading sci fi and like literature for a long time, so, maybe my voice counts. I've read the first five books of this Benjamin Ashwood series and I found the whole series to be more than just a good read. One of the reasons I have a ongoing interest in these more imaginative forms of literature is there is a way to express new ideas within a very good story (which this is, good plot, very good and believe able characters which become friends as one reads the series) and in this case it has to to with the development of will. Of ones personal power of concentration which results in a new will which really set me to thinking, regarding the development of my own will for this or that in my 78 years, and where I have not developed anything at all. But that is not the reason for you to read these books unless the idea grabs you too, they are as good a read as you are going to find, just be prepared not to put a book down, one through five, until we have to wait, I hope not to long, for the conclusion. Thank you AC Cobble.

  • Brian Clapper
    2018-12-03 19:11

    The story is decently imagined, and the author definitely has promise. However, this book suffers from the Curse of Self-Publishing: Mr. Cobble is seriously in need of both a proofreader and a good editor. Typographical errors, confusing use (or lack thereof) of punctuation, and occasionally confusing wording frequently interrupt the flow of the story. Similarly, the prose sometimes feels stilted, one simple, indifferently punctuated, sentence after another. I do think Mr. Cobble has some storytelling talent; however, if he's going to self-publish, he should consider paying for the services of an editor.